ATV/OHV Rules & Regulations

Southern Utah is a mecca for outdoor activities including ATVs and related OHVs. With the year-round off-roading opportunities, there is an increased need for knowing and understanding the ATV laws and rules of the off-road.

As of January 1st, 2023, All OHV operators in the state of Utah are required to complete a free, 30-minute Off-Highway Vehicle Education Course. This course only needs to be completed once for adults 18 years of age or older. A youth OHV education certificate is also required for operators under the age of 18.

Basic OHV Laws and Rules:

According to the Utah Division of Natural Resources, the following basic rules and laws apply when operating an Off-Highway Vehicle:

  • Wear Your Helmet. We advise everyone to wear a helmet. It can save your life. Properly worn, a helmet won’t reduce vision or hearing and helps cut out windblast. A helmet is mandatory on public land for riders under the age of 18.
  • Gloves, abrasion-resistant clothing, and over-the-ankle boots are also highly recommended.
  •  Be alert to oncoming traffic, especially on blind curves or in dips and crests of hills.
  • It is illegal to drive an OHV while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • A red or orange “whip flag” must be attached to OHVs when riding in sand dune areas.
  • Lights must be used between sunset and sunrise.
  • Be sure your brakes will control and stop your OHV.
  • Mufflers with an approved spark arrestor are required on all OHVs. (Snowmobiles do not require spark arrestors.)

If you have additional questions or what a full list of rules and requirements for operating an ATV/OHV in Utah, you can review Utah’s Off-Highway Vehicle Program brochure covering everything from registration, equipment, operation requirements, safety tips, courtesy practices, ethics and more.

Rules For Minors

Anyone under 18 can operate an OHV under adult supervision on public land. There is no longer an 8-year-old minimum age requirement as long as they fit the following requirements:

  • Able to reach and operate each control necessary to safely operate the off-highway vehicle
  • Have in their possession a youth OHV education certificate
  • Under direct adult supervision
  • Operating an OHV on a public highway that is:
    • Open to motor vehicles;
    • not exclusively reserved for OHV use.

If you’ve been injured in an ATV/OHV accident, we can help you. Contact Us today to schedule a Free Consultation.